Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Team: Offense

The Philadelphia Eagles have had a moderate level of success in the last decade including a 41-33 over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII. The victory brought the Lombardi Trophy to the city of Brotherly Love for the first time ever.  The franchise has had three different head coaches in Andy Reid, Chip Kelly, and eventually Doug Pederson. Their record through the decade is 87-73. With the exception of a 4-12 season in 2012, the Eagles have been very competitive, with five playoff appearances and one Super Bowl. A good football team needs good football players, and the Eagles have had plenty of those throughout the decade. This is the Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Offensive Team.

Check out the Philadelphia Eagles 2010s all-decade team on defense.

Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Offensive Team

Quarterback: Nick Foles (2012-2014, 2017-2018)

The surprise is real. Most would expect Carson Wentz to be the one that holds the spot for quarterback. Instead, we will go with Nick Foles, who is responsible for the team’s Lombardi Trophy. The season looked to be lost in 2017 when Wentz suffered a season-ending ACL tear, but Foles proved to be admirable by going on a remarkable run to Minneapolis and even posting a wild card victory the following year. Through two separate stints with the Eagles, Foles has played as one of the better quarterbacks in the league compared to his other destinations.

In addition to being a Super Bowl champion and Super Bowl MVP, Foles is also a record holder in most touchdown passes in a game with seven. He holds the NFL record for highest completion percentage in a game with seven touchdown passes at 78.57 percent. Foles also has the highest career passer rating in Eagles franchise history at 92.9.

Honorable Mention: Carson Wentz will earn his spot on the list if he personally can win post-season games and deliver a title to Philadelphia just like how Foles did.

Running Back: LeSean McCoy (2009-2014)

There really is no debate as to who the best ball carrier was wearing the green and white. Shady McCoy, during this decade, had nearly 4,000 more yards than any other Eagles running back. From 2010 through 2014, he led all NFL running backs with 6,155 yards, and his 4.7 yards-per-carry was fourth-best in the league during that span. McCoy was a First-team All-Pro in 2011 and 2013. McCoy currently stands as the Eagles all-time rushing yards leader at 6,792 yards.

Honorable Mention: Darren Sproles earns credit for how he revolutionized the multi-purpose running back position. His four career punt return touchdowns are the most all-time in franchise history.

Wide Receiver: DeSean Jackson (2008-2013, 2019-present), Jeremy Maclin (2009-2014), Jason Avant (2006-2013)

Throughout his tenure, DeSean Jackson was not only the fastest player on the team, but the team’s best receiver. Jackson put up over 6,000 yards and 34 touchdowns. He was also a threat in the return game, just ask the Giants during the Miracle at the Meadowlands. Jeremy Maclin was a serviceable number one but an extremely reliable number two receiver during his time. Jason Avant was a threat to any defense while he was in Philadelphia. To think they were all on the same team around the same time.

Honorable Mention: Alshon Jeffery deserves recognition for his elevated stature since he arrived from Chicago to Philadelphia. A touchdown in the Super Bowl doesn’t hurt as well as Jeffery was the primary target for Foles on that magical night in the twin cities.

Tight End: Zach Ertz (2013-present)

Brent Celek has the longevity award, but the best tight end of the decade goes to the Stanford product. In just under seven years, Ertz already has the 13th-most catches in NFL history by a tight end at 525. Since he entered the league in 2013, the three-time Pro Bowler not only has more catches than any other tight end, he has twice as many catches as any other Eagle. Did we not mention, he scored the game-winning touchdown in the Super Bowl?

Tackle: Jason Peters (2009-2019), Lane Johnson (2013-present)

Jason Peters arrived via trade from the Buffalo Bills and has been a staple on the blindside for a decade. Despite not playing in the Super Bowl, the Arkansas star had jersey was carried onto the field by no one but by Johnson himself.

Lane Johnson, an Oklahoma product, was the fourth overall pick and has been a dominant force on the right side of the line, resembling the days of Jon Runyan. When he was suspended for failing a performance-enhancing drug test, the line collapsed without his presence, establishing his importance.

Guard: Evan Mathis (2011-2014), Brandon Brooks (2016-present)

Upon arriving in Philadelphia in 2011, Evan Mathis made two Pro Bowls and an all-pro team in his four years with the Eagles. Mathis was also the Eagles’ oldest first-time all-pro since 34-year-old Pete Retzlaff in 1965.

Brooks didn’t get to Philly until 2016 but established himself as one of the best guards in franchise history. He’s made three straight Pro Bowls and was a key part of an offensive line that paved the way to a Lombardi Trophy.

Center: Jason Kelce (2011-present)

The parade speech alone puts Jason Kelce among Philly’s finest. Besides Mike McGlynn, no one else has anchored the middle of the line except for Kelce. He’s earned three Pro Bowl nods and two first-team all-pro honors. Still, his speech is the real prize.

There have been some great offensive players in the Eagles history and in this decade. Who knows? Maybe another Lombardi Trophy could be in the works. The players would love it, and the city would as well.

Embed from Getty Images

(Comments, if enabled, are below this video.)

Warning: Use of undefined constant TDC_PATH_LEGACY - assumed 'TDC_PATH_LEGACY' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /data/www/ on line 107

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.