Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Team: Defense

The Philadelphia Eagles have had a moderate level of success in the last decade including a 41-33 over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII. The victory brought the Lombardi Trophy to the city of Brotherly Love for the first time ever.  The franchise has had three different head coaches in Andy Reid, Chip Kelly, and eventually Doug Pederson. Their record through the decade is 87-73. With the exception of a 4-12 season in 2012, the Eagles have been very competitive: five playoff appearances and one Super Bowl. A good football team needs good football players, and the Eagles have had plenty of those throughout the decade. This is the Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Defensive Team.

Check out the Eagles 2010s All-Decade team on offense.

Philadelphia Eagles 2010s All-Decade Defensive Team

Defensive End: Trent Cole (2005-2014), Jason Babin (2009, 2011-2012)

Behind Reggie White, there was no feared pass rusher that resembled Trent Cole. Not only was he on the Eagles’ Team of the Decade for the 2000s, but he’s also back on the team again this decade. Overall, Cole is second in Eagles history with 85 1/2 sacks.

Jason Babin was a wrecking force in his two stints as an Eagle. Babin put up 26 sacks while becoming a mainstay on the defensive line. A short, but extremely productive stint in the city of Brotherly Love.

Defensive Tackle: Fletcher Cox (2012-Present), Brandon Graham (2010-Present)

Fletcher Cox arrived in Philadelphia and endured one of the worst years in Eagles history. Since then, he has gone on to be a team captain and a face of an Eagles defense that rose to power late in the decade. The Mississippi State product showed why the Eagles traded up to take him in 2012 and is now one of the league’s best interior linemen.

Brandon Graham will forever be a legend in Philadelphia and a nightmare in Boston after he strip-sacked Tom Brady for the title. The former Wolverine has been a mainstay on the Eagles front line for nearly a decade while establishing himself as a top pass rusher.

Outside Linebacker: Connor Barwin (2013-2016), Mychal Kendricks (2012-2017)

In his three years playing outside linebacker in a 3-4, Connor Barwin was one of the NFL’s most feared outside linebackers, putting up 26 1/2 sacks during the three years from 2013 through 2015. His best year was a 14 1/2 sack season during 2014, which earned him a Pro Bowl selection. It was the most ever by an Eagles linebacker including the great Chuck Bednarik.

Before his transgressions with insider trading, Mychal Kendricks was a force on the front seven. He was one of the Eagles’ most versatile linebackers, capable against both the run and the pass. Another member of a dominant championship team.

Middle Linebacker: DeMeco Ryans (2012-2015)

One of the forgotten players of the decade, DeMeco Ryans provided playmaking, run defense, and leadership while a member of the team. His leadership both on and off the field helped him land a job as a linebackers coach with the San Francisco 49ers under Robert Saleh en route to an appearance in Super Bowl LIV.

Cornerback: Asante Samuel (2008-2011), Jalen Mills (2016-Present)

After arriving in Philadelphia following a Super Bowl loss, Asante Samuel still proved that he was one of the dominant corners in the league even for a short time in the decade. Despite playing just 25 games during the decade, he had the most interceptions of Eagles corners during that span with 10. He also made the Pro Bowl in 2010.

Why is Jalen Mills here? The Green Goblin simply is among the best that they have had during the decade.  Though he’s not a superstar, Mills is a tough, physical corner who excels in red zone coverage against taller wide receivers.

Safety: Kurt Coleman (2010-2014), Malcolm Jenkins (2014-2019)

Malcolm Jenkins is one of the greatest safeties in Eagles history, His three Pro Bowls are tied for second-most in franchise history by a safety, behind only Hall of Famer Brian Dawkins’ seven. Jenkins has also been an advocate on social issues while leading the Eagles to a title.

Kurt Coleman is often forgotten as an Eagle due to his success in Carolina. But his playmaking ability should not go unnoticed. His seven interceptions might not sound like a lot, but the ability to hold down the back while the front line did their work makes him worthy of landing on the all-decade team.

Special Teamers: Jake Elliott (2017-Present), Donnie Jones (2013-2017), Jon Dorenbos (2006-2016)

Jake Elliott made headlines with a long field goal against the New York Giants. Since the Eagles snapped him up off the Cincinnati Bengals practice squad early in the 2017 season, he’s delivered. His Super Bowl performance was dazzling, going 3-for-3 overall including the final points of the game to seal a championship.

Cameron Johnston supposedly should get the nod, but he should be better off in the 2020s. Donnie Jones had been with the franchise for four years and consistency and leadership were vital during the championship run. Jones was also good at dropping the ball inside the 20-yard line, meaning no real chance of a return.

Jon Dorenbos retired right before the title due to a heart condition, but his consistency and model stature earned him an honorary ring. He never started a game or caught a pass or scored a touchdown as a long-snapper, but he’s still an all-time Eagle.

The Eagles have their championship and they have had a slew of talented and noteworthy players. The only thing left to wonder is what the next decade will bring. For now, this is the Philadelphia Eagles 2010s all-decade team.

Embed from Getty Images

(Comments, if enabled, are below this video.)

Warning: Use of undefined constant TDC_PATH_LEGACY - assumed 'TDC_PATH_LEGACY' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /data/www/ on line 107

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.